Lizzie Bennet and the TV star – sneak peek

You can read the 6 first chapters here: http://www.wattpad.com/story/36604364-lizzie-bennet-and-the-tv-star

The weather was surprisingly warm that day so I rolled the car window down while driving to a posh neighborhood in the suburbs, to meet Skylar Cooper. My heart once more flounced to the thought of his acquaintance. It wasn’t a pleasant one; it was more like I was dreading for that meeting. Of course, it meant a lot to me that he was my first assignment, so I tried convincing myself that what I felt was nervousness. There was nothing that could possibly go wrong. I had this piece in my pocket and it was going to be fantastic.

His house was at the end of a remote street in the suburbs. The neighborhood itself was beautiful, almost like it was taken out of a movie set; very fitting for an actor, actually. There were enormous trees on each side of the road that were forming an arch above my car as I drove towards my destination. Impressive was one of the words that I could use for this natural protective sky, but I think awe-inspiring was a more fitting one. Skylar Copper’s house was at the end of the road and its brilliance left me gazing with my jaw hanging in awe. The house was built further inside, hidden behind tall trees. There was a small paved pathway that was leading there. I left my car by the road, and after I took a long and deep breath, I walked slowly to the splendid house with the red shutters and door.

My eyes darted around the property, captivating every single detail from the stone that covered the path to the pots of flowers that where hanging by the windows. When I arrived at the front door, my heart started racing and for a moment I had to close my eyes and inhale deeply a couple of times, because I was feeling that I might faint. Feeling more ready than ever, I lifted my hand and rang the door-bell once, suppressing my excitement behind a hint of a smile. I waited for a few minutes and rang again when I got no answer. Unfortunately, not even the second or third time was successful and soon I started losing patience. Maybe Dylan had told me a different time? I checked my notes. No, I was right; he said that I could be there after eight and it was eight-thirty already.

Indecisive about what to do, I glanced around quickly, to the quiet neighborhood. Cautiously I walked to the right side of the house to where the living room windows seemed to be. There was no harm in taking a peek inside, plus my journalistic curiosity was starting to kick in, so I swiftly moved there and carefully stood on the tips of my toes in order to see what was inside Skylar Cooper’s house.

It was dark and I couldn’t see much. I squinted in my effort to concentrate but my efforts were fruitless. Ready to give up, I stood firmly on my two feet and turned to leave, when I bump onto a man. Holding back my scream, I lifted my hand and caressed my aching forehead that had found the man’s chin. When my eyes met his, I held my breath because I recognized the man as Skylar Cooper. I’d seen so many photos of him that I knew every line and detail of his beautiful face, but seriously, photos did not do him justice. He was glowing. Or maybe it was the sun that was falling on him that made him look so bright and angelic.

“What the hell are you doing here?” he chided. His clutch around my arm hurt me, but I did my best to keep a straight face. “You people don’t quit, do you?” he spat. His accent was brilliant. It took a lot of effort not to ask him to recite Shakespeare to me. He hauled me towards the path, muttering that he needed his privacy.

“Mr. Cooper, I’m…” I insufficiently tried to explain what I was doing there.

“Damn paparazzi, you’ve no respect for anything!”

“I’m not…”

He stopped to take a good look at me and let me go. He seemed to be mad, sad, confused and definitely wondering why a woman like me was bothering him so early in the morning. “Take it and leave,” he hissed.

“I’m sorry, I don’t understand!” I cried, rubbing my aching arm.

“Take the fucking photo and leave!” he shouted irritated by my stalling. This was getting out of control. He pulled the pouch out of my shoulder and looked inside it. When he found my cell that I had activated during my drive here, he turned the camera on and stood by my side. Soon he flashed a dashing smile while I was looking at him astounded, and took a selfie of us. “There, now leave me alone and next time I see you near here, I’m calling the police!”

He strode towards the house, leaving me standing frozen with the cell in hand. I took a quick glance at the photo and snorted with its ridicule. Skylar Cooper was looking exquisite even sweaty after running, and I looked like an alien. Sighing dramatically, I followed him with my eyes until he got in his house. He shot a warning glance towards me and then shut the door behind him. Well, my first meeting with the TV star had certainly started on the wrong foot!

Leave a comment